Is it Legal to Carry Handguns in West Virginia at 18?                                                                                                                                      

Some contend that the presence of firearms increases the likelihood of accidents and greater violence. West Virginia is a state where permits are not required for carry.

Cloud Banner

For US citizens who are at least 21 years old and who are lawfully permitted to own a handgun under both state and federal law, concealed carry is permitted in West Virginia without a permit.

West Virginia allows open carry without a permit. If a person is 18 years old and can lawfully own a handgun under both state and federal law, open carry is acceptable.

Cloud Banner

Persons 18+ without exceptions can carry handguns without licenses if they qualify. No licenses needed for qualified individuals to buy or openly carry firearms.

For carrying a concealed weapon without a license, one must be 21+, a US citizen, or a authorized resident with legal firearm ownership eligibility under state and federal laws.

Cloud Banner

– People who have been found guilty in any court of a crime that carries a sentence of imprisonment longer than one year – Those who regularly abuse alcohol.

State gun laws can vary, so it's important to stay updated on changes to West Virginia's regulations for gun ownership and carry.