Minnesota Minimum Wage:- To remain out of trouble with the law, corporations, organizations, and business owners in Minnesota must keep up to speed on minimum wage requirements. Planning for the future of business is made easier when one is informed and vigilant. In order to ensure that everyone can afford a standard of living, Minnesota's minimum wages are closely correlated with both the state's cost of living and inflation rate.
Every year, these minimum salaries rise in accordance with the rate of economic inflation as determined by the Consumer Price Index.
Minnesota Minimum Wage in 2024
Regardless of the size of the business, the minimum wage for all hourly workers is $10.85 per hour as of January 1, 2024. This is more than the $7.25 Federal Minimum Wage. It is your right to get the greater state minimum wage. In Minnesota, the majority of workers are subject to the minimum wage; however, there are a few notable exclusions, such as tipping staff, certain student workers, and other exempt occupations. The last time the minimum wage in Minnesota was adjusted was in 2008, when it increased from $6.15 to $10.85 by $4.70.
When working more than 40 hours a week or 8 hours a day, Minnesota minimum wage earners are also eligible for overtime compensation. An employee’s usual wage of $16.27 per hour must be at least 1.5 times higher to qualify for overtime compensation.
Minnesota minimum wages are subject to a few exclusions, and if you fit into one of the following categories, you will receive minimum pay:
1. Minimum pay for employees under 20 years of age- Those employees who are under the age of 20 are entitled to a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 employment days.
2. Minimum pay for students in Minnesota: After completing their high school education, students in Minnesota who have full-time jobs or part-time as college students are paid 85% of the minimum wage, which is as low as $9.22 per hour, for up to 20 hours per week of labour.
3. Minnesota’s tipped minimum pay – Workers who receive tips on a monthly basis receive less than the state minimum wage, while the hourly tip does contain a minimum of $10.85 per hour.
Minnesota’s LOCAL MINIMUM WAGES
The current rates are listed below:
- Minneapolis: $15.57 for companies with over 100 employees, $14.50 for those with 100 or fewer
- Saint Paul’s rates are as follows: $15.57 for macro businesses with more than 10,001 workers, $15.00 for large businesses with 101–10,000 workers, $13.00 for small businesses with 6–100 workers, and $11.50 for microbusinesses with 5 workers or less.
Unless you or your profession is expressly exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law, Minnesota employers are not allowed to pay you less than $10.85 per hour.
If your company does not pay the minimum wage, what are your options?
You can get in touch with the Labour Standards Unit of the Department of Labour and Industry if you are an employee who meets the requirements for minimum wage and your employer is paying you less than the legal minimum wage. Once you register a complaint, the Department will look into it and decide whether or not your employer is at fault.