Colorado State Overtime Laws:- It is not uncommon for workers to put in more hours than they are supposed to. Nonetheless, companies are obligated by Colorado Labour Laws to pay workers for overtime.
You are entitled to time-and-a-half in Colorado for each hour that you work beyond 40 in a workweek.
Whether you’re an employer trying to comply with Colorado’s overtime laws or an employee protecting our rights, this article will teach you the knowledge you need to properly navigate them.
Colorado State Overtime Laws:-
- Colorado’s overtime regulations are largely in line with the federal Fair Labour Standards Act (FLSA). In Colorado, most hourly workers are entitled to overtime compensation.
- In Colorado, overtime is calculated as 1.5 times the standard hourly rate for work completed by an employee who goes above and beyond:
- 40 hours a week at work
- Twelve hours a day at work, or twelve hours of work in a row (without regard to when the hours begin and stop)
- Colorado’s overtime minimum wage is $20.48 per hour (1.5 times the minimum wage), as the state’s regular minimum wage is $13.65 per hour.
For any work exceeding forty hours per workweek, twelve hours per workday, or twelve consecutive hours without regard to the beginning and ending times of the workday (excluding duty-free meal periods), employees will be paid time and half of the regular rate of pay. The higher of these three amounts will be paid to the employee.
Definition of Workweek and Overtime
Any successive seven-day period beginning and ending on the same calendar day and hour every week is referred to as a workweek. Seven consecutive twenty-four-hour periods make up a workweek, which is a regular and recurring period of 168 hours that is usually set by the employer. When calculating overtime, hours worked over two or more workweeks cannot be averaged.
Methods for Calculating Overtime
- Hourly: For hours over (whichever of the following computations yields a higher payment of wages), pay time and a half (1.5 times the standard rate):
40 hours a workweek, 12 hours a day, or 12 hours in a row without taking into account the beginning and finish of the workday (duty-free meal intervals excluded)
Commission and/or Hourly Plus Bonus: Regular rate is calculated as follows: total hours times hourly rate + bonus and/or commission workweek equivalent ÷ by total hours worked in workweek; for each overtime hour, pay half of the regular rate.
- Pay: Regular rate is calculated by dividing the total compensation by the number of hours worked.
- In the event that the usual hours fall below forty: add the standard rate for each hour above forty and pay half time.
- Pay time and a half for hours beyond 40 if the usual hours equal 40.
Colorado’s Exemptions from Overtime
The following professions or workers are excluded from Colorado’s overtime laws:
- Workers in administration or executive/supervisory roles
- Professional staff Workers not in sales
- Members of their staff and elected officials
- Unpaid nannies
- Domestic workers who are employed by families or households to carry out tasks in private homes
- Supervisors of properties
- Interstate motorists
- Driver assistance
- Motor carrier mechanics or loaders
- Drivers of taxi cabs
- Sincere volunteers
- Students who work for dorms, college organisations, fraternities, or sororities
- Students enrolled in a study programme that offers work experience
- Workers in philanthropic laundry facilities who do not receive remuneration for their labour or that of the prisoners
- Employees who handle patients in hospital laundry